How my weightlifting journey helped me with coding

How my weightlifting journey helped me with coding

·

4 min read

What's up guys :), Aman here. In today's blogpost I'm going to be talking about how my weightlifting journey helped me become a better developer. Hope you enjoy it!

Physical fitness to me is a whole journey in itself. You get to understand more about your body and through this, you understand more about yourself. If you are someone that has a hard time sticking to a workout regimen, I highly recommend getting started. There are going to be ups and downs but I promise you're going to come out of this as a better version of your previous self once you go through this physical journey.

Discipline

The main thing lifting has taught me is that if you truly put effort into something & do it consistently.. you WILL get results and you will naturally improve. The fact that I showed up to the gym every single day without fail for a few years made me realize I could apply this to essentially anything else & get results from it. If you master discipline and consistency in one area, you can apply it to any other area especially when it's a physical endeavor. You push your body and your mind to their limits. Getting in those extra 10 reps to failure requires an enormous amount of mental and physical strength. That being said, getting into that mental state every session in the gym helped me use that discipline for my other endeavors such as coding & writing.

Power of Belief

My weight-lifting journey has also taught me that limiting beliefs are all in your head. Who decides "you won't be able to put muscle on", or "you'll never be able to understand how to code.. it's too complicated".. it's you who decides. What you believe will decide the way you approach things. The fact that I was a mere 140lbs kid in high school & ended up with 190lbs of mostly muscle in my third year of university should show you that it IS possible if you put in the work. The biggest issue you are currently probably facing is having those limiting beliefs, they serve you no purpose and stall any future progression. It's always important to keep in mind, do the hard work especially when you don't feel like it. Although I'm not that far into my developing journey I still do believe that it holds for anything you want to completely indulge yourself in.

Resilience

The biggest thing I got out of my lifting journey is resilience. What weight training teaches you is that when you fail a lift that's no excuse to not try again & get stronger. You fail a lot when you go down this path & you learn to embrace the failures and treat them like stepping stones to success. Failing is needed to grow in any area and what you want to build up is the ability to recover from failure and progress even further. The resilience that I gained from the countless fails in the gym taught me that in any endeavor you go down, you will fail, but you should not let that stop you, which is why I love coding right now. You should continue failing and making mistakes because that is the key to growth.

Balance

Weight training undoubtedly was one of the biggest contributors to achieving an overall balance in my life. I believe that physical health is an essential aspect of mental health, if you're in a healthy physical condition it will reflect in how you feel mentally. Striking a balance between career goals, physical health, mental health, relationships and spiritual health is a goal everyone should strive for. The fact that I had a good relationship with the gym & my body meant that I could pursue other ventures such as coding and technology with ease because the other areas of my life were somewhat balanced. To have that feeling of assuredness in what you're pursuing, having a good balance in life is vital for your development, improvement and well-being. Balance is not something you find, it's something you create and getting started in your fitness journey is a great way to create balance.

Summary

To wrap things up I just want to end off by saying every road you go down will have its highs and lows, even fitness! It's important to understand that you should not let the lows get to your heart and don't let the highs get to your head. Keep your emotions in control and do not let them affect your consistent efforts. Good luck with your fitness journey! I'm sure you're going to go very far.

Hope you guys enjoyed the post :) I highly recommend getting started with weightlifting or any sort of fitness if you're new to this stuff. If you're into fitness & programming be sure to follow me for more posts

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Aman Velp by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!